Skip to main content

This is your Donation message.

Visiting Artists / Scholars

guest artists banner

Every year, the School of Theatre is proud to bring a variety of guest artists from the worlds of theatre, film, and television to Tallahassee to teach, perform, and interact with students at Florida State. These artists are supported in various ways, including the Hoffman and Reynolds Funds and as Guest Artists through different partnerships.

Throughout the years, the School of Theatre has had the honor and privilege to host a wide array of guest artists ranging from John Houseman and members of the original Mercury Radio Theatre, legendary Producer Joseph Papp, Academy Award winner Olympia Dukakis, and the original grand dame of the theatre, Helen Hayes.

Recent guest artists at the School of Theatre have included Golden Globe winner and Academy Award nominee Sir Ian McKellen; Emmy Award winner Anthony Zerbe; Tony Award winners Bernadette Peters, Norbert Leo Butz, and Aldo Scrofani; The Workcenter of Jerzy Grotowski and Thomas Richards; The Actor’s Gang; Chicago’s critically acclaimed comedy troupe The Second City; and Pulitzer Prize nominated playwright James Still.

In addition to these guest artists, many of our own distinguished and award-winning alumni return each year to share their talents and knowledge with current students in the School of Theatre. Alumni who have recently returned include Tony Award winning Producer Darren Bagert, Tony nominated actress Montego Glover, Tony nominated Producer Heather Provost, Ovation Award nominee Davis Gaines, Television Writer and Producer Steven Sears, Broadway performer Kevin Covert, Zac Brown band musician and singer John Driskoll Hopkins, Broadway Producer Amanda Watkins, and Emmy winning designer Randy Ser.

Past Guest Artists