Skip to main content

This is your Donation message.

Greg Leaming

Published May 21, 2015

Director, FSU/Asolo Conservatory for Actor Training
Associate Director, Asolo Repertory Theatre
Curriculum Vitae (CV)

As Associate Director at Asolo Repertory Theatre, Greg Leaming has directed his own translation/adaptation of Pierre Hennekin and Maurice Veber’s Anything to Declare? as well as God of Carnage, Boeing Boeing, Hearts, The Imaginary Invalid, The Play’s The Thing and the world premiere of Jason Wells’ Men of Tortuga. For the FSU/Asolo Conservatory he has directed Cloud 9, Pericles, Blue Window, Murder by Poe, The Mystery Plays and Two Gentlemen of Verona. He is also the Curator of Asolo Repertory’s UNPLUGGED, a new play series. He was the Director of Artistic Programming for Long Wharf Theatre in New Haven, Connecticut (1996-2001) and Acting Artistic Director (2001-2002). There he directed Arms and the Man, as well as the world premieres of Going Native by Steven Drukman, Abstract Expression by Theresa Rebeck, The Third Army by Joe Sutton, Syncopation by Alan Knee, and An Infinite Ache by David Schulner. While Artistic Director of Portland Stage Company (1992-1996), he directed, among many other plays, the world premieres of Losing Father’s Bodyand Church of the Sole Survivor (W. Alton Jones New Play Award winner) and Jeffrey Hatcher’s The Turn of the Screw. He was the Producing Director of Hartford Stage Company for the 1996-97 season, and was Associate Artistic Director for the same theatre from 1984 until 1992. Others credits include Contemporary American Theatre Festival, Banyan Theatre Company, Shakespeare Sedona, Southwest Shakespeare, Stage West, Philadelphia Drama Guild and American Stage Festival. Mr. Leaming has devoted much time developing new plays with organizations including New Dramatists, New York Theatre Workshop, New York Stage and Film, Eugene O’neill Theater Center, Cape Cod Theatre Project, The Gathering at Bigfork and Theatre of the First Amendment. He served as a panelist/observer for the Maine Arts Commission, Massachusetts Council for the Arts, Connecticut Arts Commission and the National Endowment for the Arts.