Skip to main content

This is your Donation message.

2022 Newman Award Presentations

24jan4:00 pm2022 Newman Award PresentationsVirtual Talk: Hosted by FSU School of Theatre4:00 pm


January 24, 2022 4:00pm

Event Details

Join us Monday, January 24 at 4pm EST for the annual presentation by the 2021/2022 winners of the Jay & Dr. Sue Newman Award in Theatre Studies.

Thanks to the generosity of Jay and Sue Newman, long-time FSU School of Theatre supporters and FSU alumni, the Jay & Dr. Sue Newman Award in Theatre Studies offers financial awards to students in the Theatre Studies graduate program. 2021/2022 winners are:

  • Mike Franz for his paper, “Erupting Presence into Absence: Possibility, Potentiality, and Performance in New Orleans’ 2019 Boycott Bowl”, presented at the Doctoral Theatre Students Association at the CUNY Graduate Center in New York City,
  • Teresa Simone for her paper, “Thingspiele: Fascist Avant-Garde Theatre”, presented at the 2021 Southeastern Theatre Conference, and
  • Hannah Fazio, to pursue training in Theatre Intimacy from three key organizations in this critical industry—Theatrical Intimacy Education, Intimacy Directors and Coordinators, and Intimacy Professionals Association.

Register HERE for zoom information and more.